About Us

The Branch is responsible for the formulation of IT strategy, related solution planning and implementation as well as provision of support services to TWGHs with a view to achieving operational efficiency. A full spectrum of IT support services including project planning and management, system study, design and analysis, programming, testing and commissioning and subsequent operating support, computer facilities evaluation and equipment testing, as well as end-user computing support are provided. Apart from promoting diffusion of IT to facilitate its application in various operations of the Group, the Branch also helps strengthen IT governance that geared to enhancing the IT security and information management of the Group through conducting regular training workshops for staff.


Organization

The information technology functions are carried out under the guidance of Board of Directors and supported by the Information Technology Branch. The Branch is headed by the Principal Information Technology Manager and assisted by 2 Systems Managers to oversee the works on systems development; project management; infrastructure and technical support.


Major Task

The Information Technology Branch provides information technology and communication services for all Divisions / Branches and service centres in four major areas listed below:

  1. Software Development and Project Management
    The Branch provides a variety of software development services including business system analysis; development of software information system, software testing, database administration, design and tuning. The Branch also provides IT project management services for large scale application solution and outsourcing projects.
  2. System Maintenance and Enhancement Services
    The Branch maintains about 30 information systems and several websites/portals running in UNIX/LINUX platforms and Window server platforms. The software development team of the Branch provides system maintenance services aim to enhance and optimize the functionalities of application systems as well as to remediate system defects and modifying systems in accordance with users’ requirements and practical usage. The application system quality both in usability and applicability can be improved continuously.
  3. System Operation and Technical Support
    The systems operation and support services provided by Information Technology Branch comprise of 3 major services areas listed as follows:-

    1. IT Infrastructure
      The Branch maintains a reliable and secured network infrastructure for ensuring the effective, efficient and secured information exchange between the Administration Headquarters and the service centres.  A number of computing servers running under UNIX/LINUX and windows server environment are located at the data centres of the Administration Headquarters and specific medical service centres for supporting centralized application systems in areas of financial accounting, human resources; procurement; property management, fixed asset, community services and localized application systems for the Group’s medical and health-care services. The Branch also provides system support, networking and operation services remotely for other IT facilities and application systems installed at some medical service centres, schools and community services centres.
    2. Technical support
      The Operation Unit of Information Technology Branch has provided various system support, networking and hardware technical support for our system development staff and other users from different Divisions/Branches/Service Centres with the following tasks:

      • Technical Coordination with Users
      • Software Support Services
      • System Administration & Monitoring Services
      • System Maintenance Services (Package Software)
      • System Security & Protection Services
      • IT Products & Technology Evaluation Services
      • In-house Computer Training Service
      • In-house Data Backup and Restore Services
      • System Recovery Service
      • Email Services
    3. System Security and Control
      To strengthen system security and controls, hardware and software have been installed to protect our servers, PC workstations and network against malicious attack and virus infection. The security policies and tools enforced by the branch, are to ensure our users enjoying stable IT services environment with high system availability.
  4. IT Strategic planning and Governance
    To keep pace with the ever-changing technological landscape and rapidly developing services in Tung Wah, the IT strategy has been driven as an integral part of corporate strategy and IT governance as an integral part of corporate governance to ensure the effectiveness deliverable of IT value.  IT standards and policies as well as IT control framework have been reviewed regularly and the best practice in IT implementation has been introduced for various Tung Wah’s services in an efficient way.

關於我們

資訊科技處負責制訂資訊科技策略、設計和推行有關方案,並提供技術支援服務,以提升本院的運作效率。該處的工作範疇包括項目策劃及管理、系统研究、設計和分析、程式編寫、測試和運作支援、評估電腦設備和設施管理,以及為使用者提供支援等服務。該處除積極推動資訊科技普及化,促進本院在不同範疇的運作上應用資訊科技外,亦致力加強機構在資訊科技方面的管治,定期提供相關的培訓,以提升東華三院員工在資訊保安及數據管理上的認知。


組織

資訊科技處在董事局領導下,執行資訊科技支援等職能。該處之主管為資訊科技總主任,並由兩位系統分析主任協助統籌系統發展、項目管理、基礎架構及技術支援等工作。


主要職務

資訊科技處為各科/處/服務單位提供下列四個主要的資訊科技和通訊服務:

  1. 軟件開發和項目管理
    資訊科技處提供各種軟件開發服務,包括業務系統分析、資訊系統軟件、軟件測試、數據庫管理、設計和優化發展。該處還為大型應用解決方案和外判項目提供資訊科技項目管理服務。
  2. 系統維護和優化服務
    資訊科技處為約三十個運行在UNIX/LINUX平台和視窗伺服器平台上的資訊系統和多個網站/入口網站執行維護工作。該處的軟件發展組提供系統維護服務,提高和優化應用系統功能,並根據使用者的要求和按照實際使用上的需要而修復系統的不足和更改系統,致力完善應用系統的實用性和適用性。
  3. 系統操作和技術支援
    資訊科技處提供系統操作和支援服務,包括以下三個主要服務領域:-

    1. 資訊科技基礎架構
      資訊科技處維持一個可靠和安全的網絡基礎架構,以確保行政總部和服務單位的資訊能有效率和安全地交換。位於行政總部及醫療服務單位的數據中心內,該處亦配置一系列UNIX/LINUX及視窗伺服器,以支援中央化的應用系統,包括財務、人力資源、採購、物業管理、固定資產;及社會服務和地區應用系統中的醫療和保健服務。同時亦為醫務單位、學校和社服單位的應用系統提供系統支援、網絡、操作或其他資訊科技設備等遠端支援服務。
    2. 技術支援
      資訊科技處的系統操作組除了為系統發展組同事及各科/處/服務單位的使用者提供各種系統支援、網絡和硬件技術支援外,還擔當下列工作:

      • 為使用者提供技術協調服務
      • 軟件支援服務
      • 系統管理和監控服務
      • 系統維護服務(套裝軟件)
      • 系統安全保護服務
      • 資訊科技產品和技術評估服務
      • 內部電腦培訓服務
      • 內部數據備份和復原服務
      • 系統復原服務
      • 電子郵件服務
    3. 系統安全和控制
      為加強系統保安和控制,資訊科技處已安裝相關硬件和軟件以保護伺服器、電腦和網絡的安全,防止受到惡意攻擊和病毒感染。該處並執行資訊科技安全政策,為使用者提供穩定的資訊科技服務環境及高可用性系統。
  4. 資訊科技策略規劃和管治
    為了配合與時並進的科技步伐及東華三院服務的急速發展,資訊科技策略已成為企業策略的重要組成部分,資訊科技管治亦對企業管治構成不可或缺的元素,並且肯定資訊科技對機構內的效益價值。因此,資訊科技處定期檢討有關資訊科技的標準、政策及控制架構,並採用最佳的業內實踐方案,有效益地為東華三院轄下各服務單位提供資訊科技服務。