Education Services

Collaborative Management

  • Tung Wah’s education services are operated under the leadership of the Board of Directors through its Education Committee. The Education Division of the Administrative Headquarters, working in close liaison with other divisions and branches, acts as the Committee’s executive arm and is responsible for the planning, development and supervision work in all Tung Wah schools.
  • Since 1996, the School-based Management Initiative has been practised in all Tung Wah schools in an effort to enhance the management effectiveness. Further efforts are made, in response to the Education (Amendment) Ordinance 2004, to have Incorporated Management Committees (IMCs) set up in itsĀ aided schools on February 1, 2006. Through the IMCs, more stakeholders in schools can take part in the decision-making process, hence allowing schools to have greater transparency and accountability.
  • Each IMC is composed of six to seven sponsoring body managers, the school principal, one teacher manager, one parent manager, one alumni manager and one independent manager, with the Chairman of the Tung Wah Board of Directors serving as the Honorary Supervisor.
  • The IMC has the mandate of managing the school and promoting education in the school in accordance with the mission of Tung Wah. Through self-evaluation, each school will review the effectiveness of its operation on a regularly basis to ensure continuous development.

Collaborative Management

Collaborative Management

Collaborative Management

Back to top

Professional Team

Professional Team

Professional Team

  • Teachers’ professional growth is accorded a high priority in Tung Wah. Our teachers are committed to their work and are keen on constantly upgrading their knowledge and skills in order to guide students in their effective learning.
  • Our teachers are well qualified. Among the about 1,000 secondary school teachers, 98% of them possess a Teacher’s Certificate and 96% of them have attained a Bachelor degree, while 39% of them have attained a Master degree. Among the 500 or more primary school teachers, 97% of them possess a Teacher’s Certificate, 92% have a Bachelor degree, while 25% have attained a Master degree. Among the 170 or more kindergarten teachers, all of them have Kindergarten Teacher’s Certificate and 83% of them have Certificate in Early Childhood Education, 20% of them have attained Bachelor of Education in Early Childhood Education, while 5% have attained a Master degree. Among the 60 or more special school teachers, 96% of them possess a Teacher’s Certificate, 74% of them have received special education training, 93% of them have attained a Bachelor degree, while 32% have attained a Master degree.
  • All English Language and Putonghua teachers in our secondary and primary schools have met the Language Proficiency Requirement stipulated by the Government.
  • Tung Wah encourages and subsidizes teachers to participate in various training courses as well as exchange programmes with the Mainland and overseas educational institutions in order to keep them abreast of the contemporary educational trends and teaching methodologies. Joint schools teachers’ seminars are also organized regularly to facilitate professional sharing.
  • Tung Wah has employed a team of educational psychologists to support the student guidance and counseling work of our schools. The psychologists provide assessment, referral, counselling and guidance services to students with learning, behavioural or emotional difficulties. The team of educational psychologists will also work with schools to provide training to teachers, students and parents on various aspects relating to students’ development.

Back to top

Well-equipped Campus

  • Our schools have completed all the works specified in the Government-funded School Improvement Programme for upgrading school facilities and building additional classrooms and special rooms. The works in some of our schools have been taken up by the Property Division of Tung Wah. New wings are designed in accordance with the needs of the schools, resulting in an outlook of distinguishable style and with prominent features.
  • Adequate provision of school facilities is conducive to the improvement of the quality of education. Apart from the subvention provided by the Education Bureau, our schools are also allocated with additional funds from the Board for the procurement of furniture and equipment and the upgrading of facilities.
  • Our school halls and classrooms are air-conditioned to provide a comfortable environment for learning. Apart from the setting up of multi-media learning centres in all our schools, each classroom is equipped with Information Technology (IT) facilities to facilitate the implementation of IT in teaching. Lecture theatres, campus television stations and gymnasia have been set up in some schools to cater for all kinds of diversified learning activities.

Well Equipped Campus

Well Equipped Campus

Back to top

Quality Teaching

Quality Teaching

Quality Teaching

Quality Teaching

  • Our schools place great emphasis on nurturing students to develop a good learning attitude and effective self-learning skills. Apart from transmitting subject knowledge to students, our teachers also make great efforts to arouse students’ motivation and assist them in developing effective strategies in learning.
  • Our schools also place particular emphasis on language teaching and Information Technology (IT) training for students. We aim at nurturing students to be bi-literate and tri-lingual (Chinese, English and Putonghua) and proficient in IT, thus facilitating them in learning and communication.
  • Native-speaking English Teachers (NETs) are employed in all our schools to enhance students’ English learning. To promote students’ interests and to develop their language skills, extra-curricular activities such as phonics programmes, singing and drama activities are organized under the subsidy of Tung Wah. A joint schools Engilsh summer camp is held every year for our students, with undergraduates from the University of Oxford / Cambridge serving as instructors. The camp provides good opportunity for students to learn English in an authentic environment.
  • Project-based learning and general education are offered in our secondary and primary schools. Under the guidance of teachers and through the process of making hypothesis, investigation, exploration, organising and analyzing information, students develop a proactive attitude in learning, their analytical power and thinking skills, as well as learn to co-operate and communicate with others.
  • To enhance the quality of education and learning effectiveness of our students, Tung Wah schools have been successful in securing a total funding of around 70 million from the Quality Education Fund since the first call of funding application. Over 200 projects have been implemented with encouraging results.

Back to top

All-round Development of Students

  • Tung Wah values the all-round development in our younger generation. Students are provided with ample learning opportunities through a wide variety of activities, covering academic, cultural / leisure, service, interest, sports and music domains as well as uniform groups. All these activities help cultivating an all-round and balanced educational environment conducive to the moral, intellectual, physical, social and aesthetic developmentĀ of students.
  • Funding is allocated each year to our schools for organizing various extra-curricular activities. A number of funds and scholarships have been set up to subsidize students in joining various sports and aesthetic activities as well as social service programmes.
  • In addition to the extra-curricula activities organized within schools, our students are active in participating in various inter-schools competitions such as the Hong Kong Schools Speech Festival, Hong Kong Schools Dance Festival, Hong Kong Schools Music Festival, Hong Kong Schools Drama Festival, as well as sports competitions, including athletics, ball games, swimming, rowing, Judo, Taekwondo, etc. Our students are able to achieve flying results every year, with the winning of numerous awards and prizes. Individual students have been selected to represent Hong Kong in competitions in the Mainland and overseas, with brilliant results achieved.
  • Tung Wah schools place strong emphasis on the moral and civic education. With the school motto “Diligence, Frugality, Loyalty and Trustworthiness” as the guiding principle in the moral development of students, our schools strive to promote proper values and a positive outlook on life. Students are encouraged to take part in volunteer work and engage in community service. Schools organize study tours to the Mainland, as well as establish sister-schools connection with Mainland schools. These activities help building in students a strong sense of civic identity, responsibility and commitment towards our country and the local community.

All Round Development of Students

All Round Development of Students

All Round Development of Students

Back to top

教育服務

協作管理

  • 東華三院的教育服務,由董事局透過學務委員會領導,具體的策劃、執行及監管工作由教育科負責,並由行政總部各部門加以支援。
  • 為增進學校的管理效能,本院學校從1996年開始推行校本管理。因應《二零零四年教育(修
    訂)條例》的實施,本院各資助學校由2006年2月1日起成立法團校董會,讓更多持份者參與決策,以提高學校的問責性及透明度。
  • 每個法團校董會由6至7名辦學團體校董,聯同校長校董、教員校董、家長校董、校友校董及獨立校董各1名組成,並由本院董事局主席出任名譽校監。
  • 法團校董會的職能,是按照本院的辦學宗旨,因校制宜,訂定學校發展策略,並透過學校自評機制,定期檢視工作成效,促進學校的持續發展。

協作管理

協作管理

協作管理

回頁頂

專業團隊

專業團隊

專業團隊

  • 東華三院重視教師的學習及培訓,屬校教師不僅具備教育熱誠,還能不斷更新知識,提升學養,引領學生有效學習。
  • 本院屬校師資優良。中學約1,000位教師,98%持有教師教育文憑,96%具學士學位,39%更具碩士學位。小學500多位教師,97%持有教師教育文憑,92%具學士學位,25%更具碩士學位。幼稚園170多位教師,全部持有合格幼稚園教師證書,83%持有幼兒教育證書,20%具幼兒教育學士學位,5%更具幼兒教育碩士學位。特殊學校60多位教師,96%持有教師教育文憑,74%已接受特殊教育專業訓練,93%具學士學位,32%更具碩士學位。
  • 在語文基準方面,本院英語及普通話教師已全數達到基準,成為專業的語文教師。
  • 本院鼓勵及資助屬校教師參加培訓課程,安排教師前往內地及海外作學術交流,學習新的教育理論及教學模式。本院並定期舉辦聯校教師研討會,讓教師分享各校的實踐經驗。
  • 為支援學校的學生輔導工作,本院聘有多名教育心理學家,為在學習、行為或情緒上需要輔導的學生,提供評估、跟進及轉介服務。教育心理學家並與學校的輔導老師合作,為教師、家長及學生舉辦培訓活動。

回頁頂

完備設施

  • 東華三院多所屬校已完成由政府撥款進行的學校改善工程計劃,以改善學校設施,並增加課室及特別室的數目。部分學校的改善工程更交由本院物業科負責,按各校需要而設計別具風格和特色的校舍。
  • 良好的學校設施有助提升教育質素。本院屬校除了獲得教育局的經費資助外,更每年獲得本院撥款,增添器材及改善設備。
  • 本院屬校的禮堂及課室均設有空調,為學生提供舒適的學習環境。各校並設有多媒體學習中心及在課室裝置資訊科技教學設施,以推行資訊科技教學。部分學校更設有演講廳、校園電視台及健身室等設施,供學生進行多元化的學習活動。

完備設施

完備設施

回頁頂

優質教學

優質教學

優質教學

優質教學

  • 東華三院屬校重視培育學生「樂於學習」及「學會學習」。教師除了教授學生基本的學科知識外,還會致力啟導學生,讓學生養成積極的學習態度及掌握有效的學習方法。
  • 本院學校特別注重中英語文教學及資訊科技訓練,幫助學生掌握「兩文三語」(中文、英文及普通話)及資訊科技,作學習和溝通的工具。
  • 本院各校均聘有外籍英語教師,以加強學生的英語學習。為提升學生學習英語的興趣和能力,本院特資助屬校舉辦英語拼音、唱歌學英文及英語話劇等活動。本院並在每年暑期舉辦聯校英語學習營,由來自英國牛津大學及劍橋大學的學生擔任駐營導師,讓本院同學有更多運用英語的機會。
  • 本院各中小學均設專題研習及通識學習,以跨學科的課題,在教師引導下,由學生自行設問求解,透過搜尋、整理和分析資料,培養學生主動探究、深入分析、多角度思考及協作溝通的能力。
  • 為提升教育質素及改善學習效能,本院學校由第一輪直至現在的優質教育基金中,成功取得近7,000萬元,在學校推行了200多項計劃,並取得可觀的成果。

回頁頂

全人教育

  • 東華三院推行全人教育,為學生提供包括學術、文娛、服務、興趣、體育、音樂及制服團隊等不同類型的活動,讓學生在德、智、體、群、美各方面,有均衡而具個性的發展。
  • 本院每年均撥款以供學校舉辦多元化的課外活動。本院並設有多項基金及活動獎學金,資助學生參加體藝活動及社會服務。
  • 學校除了舉辦本身的課外活動外,還積極參與香港學校朗誦節、香港學校舞蹈節、香港學校音樂節、香港學校戲劇節等校際活動,以及校際田徑、球類、游泳、划艇、柔道、跆拳道等體育比賽,並取得不少獎項,更有同學代表香港,參加在內地及海外舉行的比賽,獲得優秀的成績。
  • 在德育方面及公民教育方面,本院屬校著重培養學生的品格,幫助學生建立積極的態度和正面的價值觀,以體現中國人「勤、儉、忠、信」的美德。學校鼓勵學生參與義工服務,組織學生到中國內地進行考察,與內地學校結盟為姊妹學校,以培養學生的公民意識及對國家和社會的承擔。

全人教育

全人教育

全人教育

回頁頂