Medical Services

Mission

Chinese Medicine ServicesThe medical and health services of Tung Wah aim at providing Western and Chinese health care services to the community, as well as expanding services which fall out of the current public health system to cater for the specific needs of the community through the collaboration with the Government and institutions from both public and private sectors.

 

Introduction

Chinese Medicine ServicesTWGHs have been providing Chinese Medicine (CM) services to the public for over 135 years. The first hospital of TWGHs – Tung Wah Hospital, has been providing CM inpatient and outpatient services since its establishment. In 1896, the first Chinese doctor (Dr. Chung Boon-chor) trained in western medicine was appointed “Chief” of the hospital. This marked the beginning of Tung Wah Hospital as a medical institution offering both CM and Western medical services. Our second hospital, Kwong Wah Hospital , which was established in 1911 on Kowloon side and the third hospital established in 1929, the Tung Wah Eastern Hospital at Causeway Bay, also offered both Chinese and Western medicine. Patients were free to choose their favourite form of treatment. In 1942, under Japanese occupation, Chinese herbs were in short supply, while at the same time the Japanese Authority told the hospital to stop all CM services. As a result, only limited western medical services were provided to inpatients. After the war, only CM outpatient services were resumed.

Chinese Medicine ServicesAfter 1997, to be in line with the Chinese Medicine policy advocated by the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR), TWGHs initiated a number of projects aiming at enhancing our CM services, including the collaboration with local universities in evidence-based research projects, the organization of Chinese and western medical symposia and the establishment of research-oriented CM clinical research and services centres. These centres integrate the concept of western medicine practice into clinical operation and provide bases for clinical research.

Chinese Medicine ServicesIn 2006, TWGHs established two integrated Chinese and Western medicine treatment centres at Kwong Wah Hospital and Tung Wah Hospital to provide Chinese medicine services to inpatients. These two centres serve to promote the complementary development of Chinese and Western medicine which in turn contributes to the development of Chinese medical infrastructure. Similar services have been launched in TWGHs Wong Tai Sin Hospital and Tung Wah Eastern Hospital later on in 2007 and 2008 respectively. In 2009, TWGHs established its third integrated Chinese and Western medicine treatment centre at TWGHs Fung Yiu King Hospital.
Dedicated to promoting modernisation and scientific development of Chinese medicine, TWGHs also set up the Chinese Medicine Control Centre in 2006 to conduct identification and authentication experiments on Chinese herbs.

醫療服務

宗旨

中醫醫療服務秉承東華三院的服務宗旨,東華的醫療和衛生服務旨在為社會有需要人士提供西醫和中醫服務,並積極與政府、公、私營機構合作,彌補現存醫療體系的服務空隙。

 

簡介

中醫醫療服務東華三院的中醫服務歷史悠久。東華三院的首間醫院 – 東華醫院成立後一直為巿民提供中醫服務。當時除門診部全用中醫診症外,施藥亦用中藥,留院病人也是服用中藥。直至1896年首位華人西醫鍾本初醫生駐東華醫院出任「掌院」,醫院遂成為中西醫兼備的醫院。在1911年位處九龍的廣華醫院及在1929年位處銅鑼灣的東華東院均是中西藥並用,由病人自由選擇。直至1942年日治時代,由於中藥非常缺乏,日軍政府示意醫院停止用中醫藥治療住院病人,所有住院病人自此便由西醫治病,而中醫服務則維持門診服務。

中醫醫療服務香港回歸後,為配合政府發展中醫藥的政策,東華三院亦積極推行各項計劃,包括與本地大學合作科研計劃、到國內中醫藥機構交流探訪、並成立以教學、科研及服務為宗旨的中醫藥臨床中心,一方面提供更優質的中醫專科服務,另一方面亦推動香港中醫藥現代化和科學化,並培育中醫藥的專業人材。

中醫醫療服務在2006年,東華三院率先在廣華醫院及東華醫院設立中西醫藥治療中心,為住院病人提供中醫藥服務,融合中西醫療作業,進一步推動本地中醫醫療制度,建立健全中醫臨床架構。發展至今東華三院黃大仙醫院及東華東院亦已分別於2007及2008年開展類似服務。踏入2009年,東華三院再於屬下馮堯敬醫院設立第三所中西醫藥治療中心。

在中藥方面,東華亦於2006年成立中藥檢驗中心,負責中藥測檢、鑑定工作,促進中醫藥現代化及科學化。