Moving Towards a Green Organization
  Our Green Vision   Our Commitments   Green Initiatives   Green Education   What we have done   Benefits to the community   Video   Contact and feedback  

Green Initiative Item 3 – Small Wind Turbine

A small wind turbine is a device which converts the kinetic energy of the wind into rotational motion of the turbine rotor to drive an electric generator producing electricity. Small wind turbines are often used in remote locations, sometimes in conjunction with photovoltaic panels.

The small wind turbine and the photovoltaic system, located at the renewable energy corner and the roof respectively, were installed at TWGHs Kwok Yat Wai College with the contribution of the Environment and Conservation Fund and the Environmental Campaign Committee.

The off-grid small wind turbine located at the renewable energy corner is rated at 1100W. With the help of 390Wp photovoltaic system, the power generated by the wind-solar hybrid system will be used to support the water pump in the aquaponics. The system is equipped with an automatic battery-grid changeover device which is to ensure the aquaponics can be operated continuously.

The on-grid photovoltaic system located on the roof is composed of 10 pieces of photovoltaic panels with a capacity of 1950Wp. The system is connected to the CLP Power Hong Kong Limited grid to support the power usage of classrooms. It is estimated the system will generate over 2000kWh per year, which is equivalent to reducing about 1 tonne of greenhouse gas emission.

Small wind turbine equipped with photovoltaic panels had been installed at the renewable energy corner of TWGHs Kwok Yat Wai College Photovoltaic panels on the roof of TWGHs Kwok Yat Wai College
Two sets of data monitoring systems were installed at the renewable energy corner so as to facilitate teaching purpose. The upper one is to monitor electricity generated by photovoltaic panels located on the roof while the lower one is for small wind turbine.
Acknowledgement of the Environment and Conservation Fund and the Environmental Campaign Committee for the funding support of installation of small wind turbine and photovoltaic panels at TWGHs Kwok Yat Wai College

 

Back
 
 
All Rights Reserved. Copyright © 1996-2011 Tung Wah Group of Hospitals

东华三院邁向綠色機構
  我們的環保願景   我們的承諾   綠色項目   相關資訊   其他環保工作   社區貢獻   影片   聯絡及回應  

绿色项目三– 小型风力发电机

风力发电机是指可以把风的动能转换成涡轮叶片的转动运动,并带动发电机发电的一种设备。小型风力发电机常用于偏远地带,有些小型风力发电机会与太阳光伏板一起使用。

东华三院郭一苇中学获环境及自然保育基金及环境运动委员会资助推行小型风车及太阳能光伏板工程。小型风车及太阳能光伏板已分别安装在校园地下的可再生能源角及天台。

位于可再生能源角的离网小型风车输出功率为1100瓦,配合390峰瓦的太阳能光伏板,以风光互补的形式推动鱼菜共生系统的水泵系统并设有蓄电池 - 市电自动转换装置,以确保鱼菜共生系统能24小时运作。

而位于天台的太阳能系统发电功率为1950峰瓦,由10块太阳能光伏板组成,并接驳至中华电力有限公司电网,以支援学校课室的用电。系统预计每年发电输出量达2000度,相当于减少约一公吨的温室气体排放。

东华三院郭一苇中学的可再生能源角安装了小型风车配备太阳能光伏板 东华三院郭一苇中学天台的太阳能光伏板
两组数据监测系统已安装在可再生能源角,以作教学用途。上方的监测系统是负责监测位于天台的太阳能光伏板的发电量,而下方的监测系统是用于监测小型风车的发电量。
鸣谢环境及自然保育基金及环境运动委员会拨款推行小型风车及太阳能光伏板工程

 

返回
 
 
版权所有 1996-2011 东华三院