About Us
About Us

Where there is care, there is love. TWGHs launched the “Friends of Tung Wah” Monthly Donation Scheme in 2010. Your donation allows Tung Wah Group of Hospitals (“TWGHs”) to sustain and further develop its medical, education, community and heritage conservation services for the underprivileged. Let’s preserve our Hong Kong’s culture and spread the love to the vulnerable.

Your donation will be our motivation to serve the needy. Please join us as “Friends of Tung Wah”.
一班小朋友在郊外開心的指著天空
東華三院廣福義祠及當年東華醫院應診情況
About TWGHs

The establishment of TWGHs could be traced back to Kwong Fook I-tsz, a small temple built at Tai Ping Shan Street on the Hong Kong Island in 1851 for people to house the spirit-tablets of their ancestors. The poor hygienic condition concerned a group of earnest Chinese community leaders. They proposed to raise funds and build a hospital. In 1869, $115,000 and a piece of land at Po Yan Street, Sheung Wan were granted by the Government to build the first Chinese hospital in Hong Kong: Tung Wah Hospital.

When the hospital buildings were being constructed, remains were found on the site. A cemetery was then built by the founding Directors to re-bury those remains near the Slaughter House at Kennedy Town which started the Group’s provision of community services. In 1880, TWGHs started its first free school to provide free education to the poor. Kwong Wah Hospital in Yaumatei and Tung Wah Eastern Hospital in Causeway Bay were built and commenced operation in 1911 and 1929 respectively. In 1931, the 3 hospitals were amalgamated into the “Tung Wah Group of Hospitals” under the management of one Board of Directors.

With gradual evolution over the past hundred years, TWGHs has now developed into a well-established charitable organization in Hong Kong with a huge recurrent expenditure largely supported by the Government and only a small portion covered by service users. As TWGHs needs to shoulder the shortfall in funding as well as the cost for developing new services by raising funds from the public, holding fund-raising activities has become imperative to sustain the financial well-being of the Group. To serve the community better, TWGHs will continue to dedicate its efforts in providing diversified and high quality services for the people of Hong Kong in the years to come.

關於我們
關於東華之友

一點心意,無盡關愛!東華三院自2010年起舉辦「東華之友」月捐計劃,鼓勵各位每月定期捐款,支持我們策劃和發展長遠的醫療、教育、社會福利及文化保育服務,造福弱勢社群,傳承香港歷史文化,把關愛傳播到香港每處。

你每月的捐款,會成為我們服務貧苦大眾的動力,請立即加入「東華之友」!
一班小朋友在郊外開心的指著天空
東華三院廣福義祠及當年東華醫院應診情況
關於東華三院

東華三院可追溯自建於1851年位於港島太平山街的廣福義祠。原用作安放先僑靈位的義祠,成為流落無依人士及垂危病人的居所。由於衞生環境極為惡劣,在一群華人領袖倡議下,政府於1869年撥出上環普仁街地段,並資助建院費用,創辦香港第一間華人醫院—「東華醫院」。

於醫院施工期間,工人在院址掘出骸骨,東華遂於西環牛房公地設立義山安葬,開展社會服務。1880年,東華設立第一間義學,為貧苦兒童提供免費教育。位於九龍油麻地的廣華醫院及香港銅鑼灣的東華東院分別於1911年及1929年落成投入服務。1931年,三間醫院統一辦理,由一個董事局施行決策,統稱「東華三院」。