Touching Stories

On Mid-Autumn Festival Eve in 2018, a traffic accident took away LING's husband, tragically leaving behind LING and two young daughters. “Mum, you can't cry! You can't cry!” said the elder daughter who was wiping LING's eyes as she wept heart-brokenly.


The elder daughter, a five-year-old girl, was told to be strong and reliable by all relatives and friends, and to be responsible for taking care of her younger sister. This little girl took up the burden in this time of grief, and so had no way to release her own sadness.


Every child should enjoy their childhood happily without any worries. It is not easy for them to express and handle psychological trauma when facing the death of close family members. Hence, a proper way to support their emotional release and well-being its crucial.


On the eve of Mid-Autumn Festival in 2018, roads and streets were jammed due to Typhoon Mangkhut. LING’s husband drove alone on his motorcycle to Sheung Shui for festival reunion with relatives. LING had stayed at home with her two young daughters. At around 11 pm, the phone rang suddenly.


“I was sleeping with my girls when my mother-in-law woke me up and said the Police had just called to inform us that my husband had run into an accident. They wanted me to bring his ID documents to the hospital. The Police called many times to urge me, but I was very flustered as I could not reach my husband at the same time. I panicked and hoped this was not true. It was not easy for my father-in-law and me to get a taxi as the typhoon had just dispersed. My husband had already passed away when we arrived at the hospital. The Police let me see him one last time. I recognized my husband at once from his hand when the police lifted the cover sheet."


A sudden loss of a loved one and the breadwinner, LING felt completely heart-broken but still could not tell her young daughters regarding their father’s death. She took the two girls to kindergarten as usual the next day. "My girls were attending the morning school at Tung Wah Group Of Hospitals Wong See Sum Kindergarten. I told the teachers that my husband had just passed away and I had to handle the funeral arrangements in a very short period so, I would not be able to pick the girls up on time. The teachers assured me not to worry and that they would help take care of my daughters if I could not make it."


While LING cried her heart out, the two little girls kept asking when would Dad come back home. Facing the sudden financial pressure and questions from the girls, LING felt completely helpless about the future. "The School kept an eye on my situation. They knew my financial difficulties and suggested that I apply for the TWGHs Emergency Relief Fund to settle my husband’s funeral arrangements. They also paid extra attention to my two daughters’ emotional condition."


LING’s younger daughter, who was just three years old, had no idea about death, but kept on crying and hoping to see Dad every day. She thought Dad was like a cartoon character that will never die; or Dad would be home when she woke up. The five year old elder daughter was unexpectedly calm. She covered LING’s eyes sadly when she saw her mother was crying, and said "Mum, you can’t cry! You can’t cry!" Her father had always told her, "You are pretty when you are smiling but not when you are crying." "I knew she missed her Dad very much and that she just suppressed her grief; but she would weep at night under her blanket."  She had remembered her Dad’s words which was why she suppressed herself.


A few days later, the girls were referred for grief counselling to the TWGHs Ho Yuk Ching Educational Psychology Services Centre by the school and joined the ‘Arts-based Program in Enhancing Playfulness and Well-Being of Parents and Young Children’. The girls released the emotions that were suppressed deeply in their hearts through expressive art therapy and play therapy.


“The therapy room was full of toys, drawing tools, stuffed toys and story books.” Expressive Arts therapists, Esther recalled, “We arranged two therapists to hold group counselling with the girls. In one of the counselling sessions, a therapist had to leave to meet their mother before the session ended, and I stayed for the counselling. After the therapist left the room, the elder daughter poked hard at a Teddy Bear on the table and said ‘Teddy Bear is very angry right now. Why didn’t you say goodbye?’ We found out that she was very angry at the therapist for leaving her without saying goodbye. We realized that she just could not accept the sudden departure of others especially her father.”


Esther asked her elder daughter whether she wished to say anything to her father, by pretending to make a phone call to him, so that she could finish the words with her father; and through reading a story book together, the girl understood that it was not Dad's choice to leave without a proper farewell.


A father's death had caused a deep wound in all the family members but they avoided touching upon it at the beginning. In the following counselling session, Esther encouraged the elder daughter to recall the wonderful memories with Dad, in order to re-connect the linkage between father and daughter, and to share their reminiscences and sorrows.


Esther also created memory treasure boxes with the two girls, and asked them to draw the cherished and important moments and then keep them in the boxes, just like sharing those moments with Dad. LING said the two girls still kept the treasure boxes, to perpetuate the connection with Dad.


"I was in despair and very depressed after my husband's incident. It was fortunate to have the Centre’s help in settling my girls’ psychological needs."  LING and her girls prepared a white funeral paper wreath for their father's funeral. After three months’ counselling, the two girls had shown great improvement in their emotional issues and have come to accept the loss of their father.

YOUR DONATIONS WOULD MAKE A DIFFERENCE TO THE SERVICES OF TWGHS. WE SINCERELY INVITE YOU TO JOIN “FRIENDS OF TUNG WAH” MONTHLY DONATION SCHEME. THE MONTHLY CONTRIBUTION WOULD BENEFIT VULNERABLE COMMUNITIES IN NEED.

感动东华

2018年中秋节前夕,一场交通意外带走了阿LING的丈夫,遗下了她与俩个年幼的女儿。 「妈妈,不可以哭! 不可以哭!」大女儿心疼地用手掩着阿LING的眼睛。


大女儿当时只有五岁,亲友对她说,她要坚强,妈妈靠她支撑,她要懂事,因为她要帮妈妈照顾妹妹她; 还没来得及伤心就被催促着成长。


童年,理应是快乐无忧的岁月。当孩子遇上亲人来逝或情绪创伤,他们未必懂得表达和处理。因此,适切地支援孩子按自己舒服的方式表达感受非常重要。


2018年中秋节前夕,由於台风山竹袭港后道路不通,阿LING 的丈夫下班后独自驾电单车到上水与亲友过节,她则与俩个女儿留在家中。到晚上多 11 时,电话突然响起。


「我当时已和两个女儿入睡,同住的奶奶拍门叫醒我,原来是警察打电话来,说我丈夫出了事,要我马上带齐他的身份证明文件到医院。警察打了很多通电话催促我,我丈夫电话又联络不上。我当时心好慌乱,总盼望这不是真的。因为台风刚过,我和老爷在街上好不容易才找到的士。到了医院,原来我丈夫已经走了,警察安排我去见他最后一面。他们揭开块布,我见到我丈夫只手,我就认得是他。」

突然失去挚爱,内心承受着极大的伤痛,阿LING 不敢向两名年幼的女儿透露爸爸死讯,事发翌日早上如常把她们带回来幼稚园上学。 「我俩个女儿在东华三院黄士心幼稚园读上午班。我告诉老师丈夫刚意外去世,我可能短时间内需奔波处理他的身后事。我怕自己赶不及接他们放学。老师叫我不用担心,若真的赶不及就打电话回校说一声,学校会帮我照顾小朋友。」


事发后,阿LING 天天以泪洗面,俩个小朋友常常追问爸爸何时回家。面对孩子的问题和突然而来的经济压力,她对未来日子深感仿徨。 「学校很关心我的情况,知道我有经济困难后,帮我申请东华三院的紧急援助基金以处理丈夫的身后事,又特别留意两姊妹有否出现情绪问题。」



妹妹只得三岁,不理解什么是死亡,会以为爸爸可以好像卡通人物不死身,又以为爸爸睡醒就会起来,每天就是伤心地嚷着要见爸爸。姊姊当时也只有五岁,但却出奇地冷静,看到妈妈伤心流泪,就会很心疼地用手掩着妈妈的眼睛说:「妈妈,不可以哭,不可以哭。」 阿LING 说:「爸爸生前常常跟大女儿说『不要哭,笑好』。我知道,其实大女儿很想念爸爸,她只是在人前强忍情绪,一到晚上就会躲在被子里小声地哭。」爸爸的嘱咐植根在姊姊的一点心灵,所以她一直压抑自己。


几天后,学校转介两姊妹的个案到东华三院何玉清教育心理服务中心,并安排他们参与其「幼儿情绪健康计划」,接受哀伤辅导,并以表达艺术治疗和游戏治疗的方法让孩子表达抑压在内心的情绪,以走出阴霾。


治疗室内有玩具、画具、娃娃和图书。表达艺术治疗师Esther忆述:「我们安排两位姑娘一同与小朋友进行小组辅导。在一次辅导的过程中,其中一位护士先行离开治疗室会见妈妈,让我继续辅导工作。姊姊突然拿著熊娃娃的手用力地刺台面,然后说: 『熊熊现在很生气,为甚么不说 bye-bye就走? 』经了解后,原来姊姊在埋怨姑娘没有跟她说再见。我当时想,这孩子似乎无法接受身边人不说再见就突然离开,可能与她的爸爸突然来逝有关。」


Esther问姊姊有什么想跟爸爸说,然后一同扮打电话给他,希望在生活上延续两父女的对话,把未说完的说话说完; 又透过分享绘本故事,让她明白爸爸是逼不得已才没有及时跟她说再见。

爸爸的离开,成为了一家人疼痛的伤口,初期大家也避免提及。後来,Esther鼓励姊姊在治疗过程中,回忆与爸爸生前的美好片段,哪怕只是短暂的一刻、一些小故事和一些旧照片,让孩子和爸爸重新连结,并一起怀念和承受失落。


其后,Esther和姊妹两人创作了属于她们的回忆宝盒,鼓励孩子的珍贵和重要的时刻画下来,放在宝盒中,如同与爸爸分享一样。到现在,阿LING说姊妹两人仍保存宝盒,宝盒好像延续了孩子和爸爸的连结。


「丈夫出事以后,我很孤独无助,自己心情也很差,幸好有中心的护士帮我处理俩个小朋友的情绪。」 阿LING 说。在丧礼上,阿LING 与两姊妹一起折了一个白色花圈送给爸爸。经过三个月的辅导,两姊妹情绪大有改善,并开始接受爸爸的离开。


「丈夫出事以后,我很孤独无助,自己心情也很差,幸好有中心的护士帮我处理俩个小朋友的情绪。」 阿LING 说。在丧礼上,阿LING 与两姊妹一起折了一个白色花圈送给爸爸。经过三个月的辅导,两姊妹情绪大有改善,并开始接受爸爸的离开。


您的捐款可以增善东华三院的服务,我们诚邀您加入成为「东华之友」,作出每月捐助的承诺,让更多有需要的孩子得到援助。