Records and Heritage

Tung Wah Museum is a building of a symmetrical layout, with a Main Hall at the middle franked by two side chambers. The Museum is a traditional “column-and-beam” structure. Structural columns are made of timber standing on carved granite bases. The walls are constructed with green bricks with very fine pointing. The whole Museum is sitting on a granite platform fronted by granite steps.

The exterior of Tung Wah Museum
The exterior
The main hall and veranda of Tung Wah Museum
The main hall and corridor
Corridor on the first floor of Tung Wah Museum
Corridor on the first floor

Chinese style

The museum building is a fine piece of architecture characterized by a combination of traditional Chinese and Western styles. The Chinese style is found in the red bricks flooring, the green tiles, the red columns, the wooden beams, the corridor, the pyramidal roof, the ancestral hall setting and Chinese decorations as viewed at the front elevation.

The traditional Chinese pyramidal shingle roof of Tung Wah Museum
The traditional Chinese pyramidal shingle roof

Exquisite wood carvings are found on the floral and auspicious motifs of the eaves board, as well as the truss system and camel’s humps along the verandah. Door panels having gilded floral carvings are seen in the main entrance, while checkered and floral patterns are seen in the red window frames.

The traditional Chinese ceiling decorations of Tung Wah Museum
The traditional Chinese ceiling decorations

The pitched roof is laid with green glazed tiles whilst the ridge, which was reconstructed in 1991 imitating the original one in 1910, is decorated with a peal in the middle and two dragon fishes standing on geometric patterns at ridge ends. The name of the factory in Shiwan for producing the glazed ridge and the reconstruction year are also inscribed on the ridge.

The traditional Chinese decorations on external wall of Tung Wah Museum
The traditional Chinese decorations on external wall

Western Style

Western influences are found in many parts of the buildings. Bull’s eye windows and segmental arched windows with keystones were used. Inside the main hall, the four arch doorways leading to the exhibition rooms are designed with western-style fan-lights. Besides, the arch, the loft, the window frames of the office as well as the back wall were all adopting the Western style of the 20th century.

The back wall shows the distinctive Western architectural features of Tung Wah Museum
The back wall shows the distinctive Western architectural features
The Chinese wooden doors versus the Western arch door
The Chinese wooden doors vs. the Western arch door

Back to top

歷史文化保育

東華三院文物館的佈局對稱,中間為大堂,兩側是偏廳。文物館屬傳統的樑柱建築結構,結構柱以木建造,豎立在具雕飾的花崗石柱座上。牆身以青磚築砌,磚縫非常幼細。整幢文物館坐落於花崗石平台之上,前面有花崗石梯級。

東華三院文物館外貌
外貌

 

東華三院文物館大堂及千步廊
大堂及千步廊
東華三院文物館一樓走廊
一樓走廊

 

中式建築

文物館的建築優美,糅合中西建築的精髓。她古色古香的外貌,加上紅磚綠瓦、門前的千步廊、人字頂、館內的祠堂佈局,以及從建築物正面看到的中式裝飾等,充份展現了中國傳統的建築特色。

東華三院文物館富中國建築特色的人字瓦頂
富中國建築特色的人字瓦頂

 

檐板上的花卉和吉祥圖案,及外廊的桁架和駝峰均是精緻的木刻。入口大門門板以鍍金花卉雕刻作裝飾,紅色窗框上以格子和花紋圖案點綴。

東華三院文物館富中國傳統色彩的天花裝飾
富中國傳統色彩的天花裝飾

 

金字屋頂鋪有綠色琉璃瓦,屋脊始於1991年重建而成,當時仿照1910年原有的屋脊設計建造,中央飾有一顆寶珠,兩端有一對置於幾何紋飾上的鰲魚。屋脊上亦刻有製造該琉璃屋脊的石灣工廠名稱和重建年份。

東華三院文物館富中國傳統色彩的外牆裝飾
富中國傳統色彩的外牆

西式建築

西方影響可見於建築物多處地方,包括使用小圓窗和連拱頂石的弓形拱窗。由大堂通往展覽廳的四道拱門設有西式的楣窗、館內的拱門、閣樓及辦公室的窗框、後門外牆等均充份發揮二十世紀初流行的西式建築特色。

東華三院文物館的後門外牆富西式建築特色
富西式建築特色的後門外牆
東華三院文物館的中式木門跟西式拱形門框成一對比
中式木門跟西式拱形門框成一對比

回頁頂